• Image of The Frozen Vaults - 1816 (CD)



1816 is the debut album from modern classical collective The Frozen Vaults. It is thematically based around the year 1816, which recorded one of the coldest years the world has ever seen. At the time, little was known as to why this phenomenally cold year was upon them, which soon become known in history as 'the year with no summer' and 'eighteen hundred froze to death'.

Eventually through extensive scientific research, it was discovered
that the exceptional cold was more than likely attributed to a violent
volcanic eruption by Mount Tambora in the year prior. In recent years
we have seen that particularly bad eruptions have had a similar
effect, yet rarely to the extent recorded in 1816.

There has been much written in history to testify the extreme hardship
that the cold brought to the world that year. Here in their tributary
album '1816', The Frozen Vaults bring to our ears a glimpse of the
perishing chills that so many were subjected to over the course of the


1. First Moments
2. Cold Light Of Day
3. Frozen Streams
4. Hard Frost Fields
5. A Year Without Summer
6. Cloak Of Lingering Fog
7. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
8. Stilled
9. The Great Thaw
10. Field Rotation - Zeitreise (Remixed By The Frozen Vaults)

The Frozen Vaults are:

Bartosz Dziadosz (Pleq)
Harry Towell (Spheruleus)
Yuki Murata (piano)
David Dhonau (cello)
Tomasz Mrenca (violin)

Mastered by Vincent Villuis at Ultimae Studio
Artwork and design by Paskine